Classes / Register

CERT Basic Training Classes

Fall 2022 classes are now forming

Basic CERT classes are offered twice each year. These classes are open to residents and employees of the Lamorinda area. This includes the cities of Lafayette and Orinda, the Town of Moraga and the unincorporated areas of Canyon and Briones and that part of Saranap that is not in the Walnut Creek School District. Teenagers age 14-17 are welcome with a parent, guardian or Scout Leader.  We do ask for a commitment to attend all the classes in a series, including the drill; to maintain your skills through periodic practice and additional training; and to be ready to help your community in time of disaster. Class series are held each year in Lafayette and/or Orinda. Each series is nine weekly evenings including a drill.

There is a non-refundable registration fee. To those who attend the first five classes we will distribute, at no charge, a CERT specific medical supply kit of hard to find items valued at over $40.

Scholarships are available for high school students in need to attend the CERT training. Inquire here.

What is included? The Lamorinda CERT curriculum is based on the FEMA standard CERT curriculum that has undergone substantial change. We localize and enhance it to be appropriate for local residents. We spend little time talking about hurricanes but we cover earthquake preparedness in detail. The subjects we cover are: personal and home preparedness for all-hazard emergencies; utility, hazardous materials and fire safety; disaster medical response; light search and rescue; Incident Command System; disaster psychology; terrorism; radio communications and pet preparedness. We do NOT teach CPR but encourage all to be CPR/AED trained.

Access and Functional Needs. All presentation materials have been designed to be accessible for low-vision and color blind persons. Reasonable accommodations for people with other access and functional needs are available upon request. Make your request as early as possible as last minute requests will be accepted but may be impossible to fill. If accommodation is needed, please send your request to registrar@lamorindacert.org .

Out-of-District Students. Occasionally our classes are not filled with in-district students. If you do not live or work in Lamorinda, you may be able to sign up for one of our class series. To do so, send a request to registrar@lamorindacert.org and ask if there are openings. The cost for an out of district student is $100. This almost covers our out-of-pocket costs per student! Any out-of-district registration that is not pre-approved will be denied and any class fees paid will be refunded.

All times are listed in 24 hour format. 1830 = 6:30 p.m.

Fall 2022 Session – CLASS REGISTRATION

DATE UNITS LOCATION TIME INSTRUCTORS
Thursday, Sept 8, 2022 Introduction & Preparedness Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Sept 15, 2022 CERT Organization & Communications Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Sept 22, 2022 Fire Safety Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Sept 29, 2022 Medical Part I Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 Medical Part II Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 13, 2022 Search & Rescue Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 20, 2022 SAR Exercise & Pets Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 27, 2022 Drill Contra Costa Fire District Training Center 1800 to 2200 All instructors
Thursday, Nov 3, 2022 Psychology, Terrorism & Graduation Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130

Winter 2023 Session – CLASS REGISTRATION

DATE UNITS LOCATION TIME INSTRUCTORS
Tuesday, Jan 10, 2023 Introduction & Preparedness Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Tuesday, Jan 17, 2023 CERT Organization & Communications Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Tuesday, Jan 24, 2023 Fire Safety Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Tuesday, Jan 31, 2023 Medical Part I Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Tuesday, Feb 7, 2023 Medical Part II Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Tuesday, Feb 14, 2023 Search & Rescue Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Tuesday, Feb 21, 2023 SAR Exercise & Pets Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130
Tuesday, Feb 28, 2023 Drill Contra Costa Fire District Training Center 1800 to 2200 All instructors
Tuesday, Mar 7, 2023 Psychology, Terrorism & Graduation Lafayette Community Center 1830 to 2130

Fall 2023 Session – CLASS REGISTRATION

DATE UNITS LOCATION TIME INSTRUCTORS
Thursday, Sep 14, 2023 Introduction & Preparedness Orinda Library Auditorium 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Sep 21, 2023 CERT Organization & Communications Orinda Library Auditorium 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Sep 28, 2023 Fire Safety Orinda Library Auditorium 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 5, 2023 Medical Part I Orinda Library Auditorium 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 12, 2023 Medical Part II Orinda Library Auditorium 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 19, 2023 Search & Rescue Orinda Library Auditorium 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Oct 26, 2023 SAR Exercise & Pets Orinda Library Auditorium 1830 to 2130
Thursday, Nov 2, 2023 Tentative Drill Contra Costa Fire District Training Center 1830 to 2130 All instructors
Thursday, Nov 9, 2023 Psychology, Terrorism & Graduation Orinda Library Auditorium 1800 to 2200

For more information, contact the Registrar.